Validation Error

Customer Service: 1-800-777-4362

M-F 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. PST

Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
* *
* *
Bad
Excellent
Existing reviews
Great way to with help spelling
The exercises themselves are great. However, it would be more helpful if an answer key would be included versus having to purchase the teacher edition for answers and directions for spoken dictations. Other than that I love it.
Verified buyer | 4/14/2019 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
GREAT
Love this simple spelling book.  I feel the words are appropriate and have a good theme to each and plenty of helpful little activities to help my kiddos retain the information
Verified buyer | 10/21/2018 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A Great Learning Assest!
I love it!
Verified buyer | 10/9/2018 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Most likely I would try a different level
I like having different spelling options to choose from.
Verified buyer | 9/25/2018 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Excellent spelling program.
Wonderful phonics based program.  Easy for kids to do on their own while you run guided reading groups. Kids enjoy the predictability and yet get good review of words.
Verified buyer | 12/2/2017 4:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/1)
saves me time.
Great time saver. I wish the pages were not double sided. It doesnot work to tear out for daily work. One weeks work is on the back of the next week page.
Verified buyer | 10/19/2017 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
saves time
Great time saver. I wish the pages were not double sided. It does not work to tear pages out for daily work. last page of one weeks work is on the back of the next weeks first page. love that it has test pages.
Verified buyer | 10/19/2017 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
saves time and money
Great time saver. I wish the pages were not double sided so I could tear them out for daily work. The last page of one week is on the back of the next week.
Verified buyer | 10/19/2017 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Best E-book Ever.
I totally love Building Spelling Skills E-book. I teach Special Education Modified Reading and Writing classes so my students are below grade level. This Spelling Activities provide for group work or independent practice. They have also learned not to memorize the spelling words, but are actually learning and recognizing the words.
Verified buyer | 10/17/2017 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/1)
Very appropriate for my ELD learners.
It would be perfect for a homeroom teacher to use but as a supplement material I have to pick and choose.
Verified buyer | 10/10/2017 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/1)
Yes I would buy this again.
Great program to use. I'm supplementing this in my language arts until we adopt a common core program.
Verified buyer | 6/12/2016 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/1)
I love this book and use it all the time!
I use all of the Daily review books to help my students warm up everyday and get their brains going.
Verified buyer | 3/19/2016 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Best spelling out there!
My daughter has learned her spelling on her own after completing the few pages with each list. No more stressful study sessions. And since there are different activities with each list she doesn't get bored with it.
Verified buyer | 1/10/2016 4:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Good spelling reinforcement
Good for building confidence in a weak speller. Activities are similar for each week and can feel a bit repetitive, but they do have some variation to prevent extreme boredom! Reinforces spatial memory. Very straight-forward and pleasing to a learner who gets irritated with complex procedures or too many "decorations" in their lessons.
Verified buyer | 7/16/2015 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (7/0)
Building Spelling Skills
Our school purchased grade 1-6 and are very happy with our purchase.
Verified buyer | 4/28/2015 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Wonderful workbook
I use this series of spelling workbooks in homeschooling my children. We do the workbook along with hands on activities and it is the perfect fit. The fun but consistent layout keeps them engaged in learning new words. I've tried many different workbooks over the years and the Building Spelling Skills series is by far the best.
Verified buyer | 4/3/2015 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (3/0)
Wonderful workbook
I use this series of spelling workbooks in homeschooling my children. We do the workbook along with hands on activities and it is the perfect fit. The fun but consistent layout keeps them engaged in learning new words. I've tried many different workbooks over the years and the Building Spelling Skills series is by far the best.
Verified buyer | 4/3/2015 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A Helpful Tool
My child reads very well; just have to keep working on the spelling. We work on memorizing word families ( i.e. words that end in _ ear, _ air, etc.)This book is a good spell building tool; it covers all the words my child already knows. Nice activities to help memorize. It works well as a review.
Verified buyer | 1/31/2015 4:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Website FAIL
This product is average. I have an older print version that I misplaced and liked much better.

Your website made it very difficult to download my purchase, and I am fairly tech savvy. My account was also linked to another persons name, which made me very leery about placing purchases within your site.
Verified buyer | 11/22/2014 4:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/2)
Excellent resource!
I purchased this book a couple of months ago to help program for students with advanced skills in a younger grade. It's a great resource! In the second unit however, a few of the numbers were missing for a few activities (including the cross-word puzzle). I'm sure this can easily be tweaked. Don't hesitate to buy!
Verified buyer | 10/18/2014 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/1)
Great lesson diversity
I had an old copy of the 3rd grade spelling and liked the variety of word work each lesson had. There is letter work, editing, comprehension, sentence dictation, and phonics work for each spelling list. I bought the online version of grades 1, 2, and 3.

Problems: 2nd grade list is too simple. I would consider it on a 1st grade level. I only use it for my kids who have extreme reading problems.

The online version needs to have built in bookmarks. It is a bother to have to scroll down to find what you are looking for. It should have an index and the ability to click on a specific lesson or resource and go directly to that page.
Verified buyer | 9/28/2014 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (9/0)
Great on SMART Board
This e-book works very well on the SMART board. I am able to go over and explain exercises with a clear visual. Also, the students really enjoy writing on the board!
Verified buyer | 9/18/2014 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/2)
Great program
This program uses a sequential progression of development and similar skills each week so students are able to find patterns and work through the units
Verified buyer | 9/13/2014 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/1)
Very useful for progressive learning. Only disadvantage...
Very useful for progressive learning. Only disadvantage is American spelling, but we can work with that!
Verified buyer | 9/2/2014 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/2)
Spelling is essential!
I teach 5th grade in an inner city school, and we have no spelling curriculum tied into our literacy block. I used this spelling curriculum with my students last year and was quite pleased. I also used the phonics workbook in conjunction with this workbook.
Verified buyer | 7/29/2014 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/2)
A big help
I like having the spelling words laid out in a workbook to copy and test. Only one problem. The answers are on the page.
Verified buyer | 6/11/2014 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great Download
this was easy to print and use with students.
Verified buyer | 10/7/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This spelling series works great!
The daily spelling lessons worked great for my students. It helped to be broken down into manageable parts.
Verified buyer | 10/4/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
Building Spelling Skills Daily Practice
The is a great for my Special Education students - they need this type of practice.
Verified buyer | 9/26/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/1)
great spelling program
It's great for differentiated spelling.
Verified buyer | 9/18/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/1)
nice material
easy to use
Verified buyer | 9/10/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great Curriculum
We use this as a daily lesson and it is very easy for the kids to follow. They can even now get started by themselves!
Verified buyer | 9/8/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/1)
LOVE this!!
I love this series of spelling. It sombine both the phonics side as well as the whole language and word shape side of spelling. I think it is a good amount without being overwhelming practice on spelling words!!!
Verified buyer | 7/30/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Life saver
I use this resource for homework assignments since it is not too hard and students will feel motivated to complete it.
Verified buyer | 7/28/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great spelling book!!
I used this book for weekly spelling. They had one sheet of homework per night and a test on Friday. The activities were varied enough that they gave the students a wide understanding of the words and their spellings.
Verified buyer | 7/28/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Love this!
My students preferred this to the other spelling program we have used in the past.
Verified buyer | 7/27/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/1)
Wonderful Program
I liked the e-book format because I can change the bonus words and the Spelling lists still look professional. The student's parents like the three week lists that come with the program. They like the consistancy of it.
Verified buyer | 7/27/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/1)
Good Spelling Program
Used weekly for spelling packet.
Verified buyer | 7/27/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/2)
Great product
My daughter loved these spelling activities.
Verified buyer | 7/27/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great foundation to build upon
I do not give a traditional spelling test, therefore I expect my students to be able to use their spelling words in many different ways. They are given the list of dictation sentences at the beginning of the school year to keep in their binders. They are expected to know how to write these sentences with correct spelling, capitalization, and punctuation. This is the only time they will have to write the spelling words contained in the sentences for this test. I then give them several of the "left over" spelling words in a traditional manner. They must then use this set of words to answer questions (How many syllables in the word you wrote for number 1? What word has a long vowel sound? What is an antonym/synonym for the word your wrote at number 3? Circle the consonant blends in each word that you wrote above., etc.) Then they are given the last four words to use in a journal prompt. They are graded using a scoring guide based on our report card standards. The Building Spelling Skills program provides an easy structure to build upon. I give the students each unit as a weekly packet to complete for homework (one page per night) and we go over it in class. It is simple enough for the parents to understand, yet challenging enough to make students think about the words. It is easy to build daily center activities around the word lists to help them be successful writers for both the assessment and the real world. Since all levels are set up the same way, it is also easy to differentiate for the students, but use the same basic structure.
Verified buyer | 7/23/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
It Did the Trick
Students were able for the most part to teach themselves with the format given. Some dictionary work was required, which I appreciated. I will be reqiring more writing along with their workbook work this next year.
Verified buyer | 7/14/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Practical and Useful - Worth the money!
I currently use Evan-Moor's products with 4 of my children. I plan to continue using them in the future, because I love the practice it gives them. The products are easy and simple to use - and they have yielded great results for all of my children.
Verified buyer | 7/13/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Useful product
I ordered the e-Edition so that I could use it from my computer to project onto the whiteboard while insructing students. No more trying to keep the pages from flopping over while instructing!
Verified buyer | 7/11/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (3/1)
Awesome Resource!!
The product arrived promptly and was a great value. I can use several to reach students where they are and move them where they need to be. Ease of use lends itself nicely to the Daily 5 and Daily Cafe (trademarked) literacy my district uses.
Verified buyer | 7/8/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (19/1)
Quick and easy to learn.
I use this product every year. It is the easiest spelling program that I've found for our family. It's easy to teach and easy to learn.
Verified buyer | 7/8/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/1)
Easy to use
Useful for weekly spelling homework. Very user friendly
Verified buyer | 7/6/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Great materials for my SDC class!
I have 4-6 grade spec ed students and this program allows me to address the range of student academic levels (1st-4th). Students work in small groups and help each other. I assist them with the last page of phonics materials. Students graph their spelling test levels and missed words are added to the next week's list.
Verified buyer | 7/6/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/1)
great resource
excellent supplement to help my remedial speller
Verified buyer | 7/6/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
great supplement
excellent supplement to help my remedial speller
Verified buyer | 7/6/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Very practical!
I loved how this product combined phonics with spelling and vocabulary development. You get a big bang for your buck!
Verified buyer | 6/15/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great resource!
I love the ebooks. They are great for small group differentiated instruction for both remedial and advanced students. The reading comprehension one is my favorite.
Verified buyer | 6/13/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great Resource
I used this product to support students who did not do well with the basal supplied weekly spelling lists. It was especially helpful with ESL students.
Verified buyer | 6/12/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Excellent tool!
Great daily practice for spelling.
Verified buyer | 6/12/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great
Great resource
Verified buyer | 6/12/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
High quality phonics workbook
This student workbook provided my students with good independent practice of the phonics sounds we introduced in reading groups. It covered the consonants, digraphs, short vowels, long vowels and diphthongs. Each lesson has 4 pages. We completed one lesson per week. While I did not care for the first page of each lesson where the students copied the words, I found the rest of the lesson to be valuable. The format of this workbook is clear and well-organized.
Verified buyer | 6/12/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Great E-book! I love it
I used it all year! It has great scaffolding for students who need it. The only thing I would add is a part that has the student write a sentence a specific word correctly. Many of my students needed that practice to help their mastery of the vocabulary used in spelling words.
Verified buyer | 6/4/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Great Resource
Great resource to use in daily morning routine with students. Also used as homework on a regular basis. Parents loved helping their child succeed and they also knew upcoming activities, so children could progress at their own rate. Overall, very effective and enjoyable resource for students and it did motivate reluctant students to succeed. Thank you, Evan-Moor!
Verified buyer | 5/28/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Excellent resource!
I love this resource. This makes lists avaliable at your finger tips with spelling rules. I use it as just a supplement to my instruction.
Verified buyer | 5/19/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A good, solid spelling program
easy to use
Verified buyer | 5/19/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I would buy this product again and again
I can see inside of the book before I buy it.
Verified buyer | 5/19/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Good
It was great.
Verified buyer | 5/7/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I would buy this product again and again
I love all the activties that each unit includes and like the way the words are grouped.
Verified buyer | 5/6/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/1)
Building Spelling Skills
Used as a daily supplement for 3rd grade.
Verified buyer | 5/4/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Average product for average students!
The product and its contents work just fine for your average class. It is easy to use week to week and the students can slide into a rhythm. Works good for a general fifth grade classroom.
Verified buyer | 5/3/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/2)
Awesome
Great
Verified buyer | 5/1/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/1)
Building Spelling Skills Daily Practice
Great for our ESL classrooms
Verified buyer | 3/24/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Excellent resource
Just missing standardized test prep dictionary skill practice.
Verified buyer | 3/15/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
"Great resource for any classroom"
I really appreciated how easy it was to use this resource. It's great for a quick, everyday practice. I also liked how the students can track their own progress.
Verified buyer | 3/11/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/1)
Love this spelling book!
This has been easy to use. The book is fluff-free!
Verified buyer | 3/11/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/1)
Its a good thing for teachers to use
Very useful and kids love it. A bit too complex but overall its great
Verified buyer | 3/11/2013 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/1)
5th Grade Spelling
I use this product every day for spelling practice and testing on Fridays. Thanks for a great resources.
Verified buyer | 9/17/2012 5:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Excellent! I will purchase this again!
I am currently using this book with ELL students. I love that the book has the students using the words in sentences and requires them to understand what the words mean, not only how to spell the word.
Verified buyer | 3/1/2012 4:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/1)
Wonderful book!
I am using this book with ELL students. I like how the book has the student using the spelling words in sentences and requires them to understand the spelling word's definition. The only thing that I do not like is that this book is for sixth grade and up instead of having more books for the older students.
Verified buyer | 3/1/2012 4:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Getting Ahead
The box was used to help my daughter get ahead of the game before she received the spelling from the teacher. I enjoy the book the only problem is that some of the pages are different than what my daughters Teacher sends home. Overall its nice to know that parents can obtain these materials to move your child in the right direction.
Verified buyer | 11/13/2011 4:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/1)