Validation Error

Customer Service: 1-800-777-4362

M-F 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. PST

Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
* *
* *
Bad
Excellent
Existing reviews
I just love the serie.
We homeschool and this serie is a wonderful resource not only for teaching but reviewing reading concepts.
Verified buyer | 2/14/2018 4:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A great product!
I received a free promotional copy of this product and was very excited as this was one I was planning on buying anyway. My first grader has strong decoding skills, but struggles with comprehension. I have used the Daily Reading Comprehension practice book for years (with older siblings), and this book is the perfect companion for it. You can select pages from this book to address specific missing comprehension skills. Some of the passages are a little long for my first grader, so we take turns reading sentences to get through them. This book is a great product and I highly recommend it for children who have deficits in their reading comprehension skills.
Verified buyer | 2/14/2018 4:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
Excellent fundamental practice of specific reading skills.
I have read several other reviews.  I do not believe this book is supposed to be completely Common Core or PARCC aligned.  This is a nicely organized book that covers the fundamentals of reading, with engaging text, and skill-based questions.  I think this a great resource for basic practice.  I will be using it as a supplemental resource to support a basal series.
Verified buyer | 2/10/2018 4:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Wow
Wonderful resource for my students. Thank you for all the wonderful evan moor ideas.
Verified buyer | 2/7/2018 4:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
LOVE IT!
I use this in my 2nd grade classroom for morning work
Verified buyer | 2/7/2018 4:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great resource!
Great reading comprehension activities - can be used with whole class or with small group instruction.  I also use them for reinforcement for struggling students - I send them home for parents to review witht their child.
Verified buyer | 2/7/2018 4:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Not enough rigor to meet state testing expectations.
I agree with a previous review found for this product.  The questions do not meet the rigor of state testing expectations.  I do like that it teaches the fundamental reading skills independently but am very disappointed in the format of the questions.  I also hope that Evan Moor will send purchasers updated ebooks. I had planned on encouraging our school district to purchase this product for all third grade teachers but would not unless the format is updated.
Verified buyer | 2/7/2018 4:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Awesome
This has been a great resource for my classroom. My students need explicit instructions and guidance and this provides it.
Verified buyer | 2/7/2018 4:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Just what I was looking for
This is great for those students who are still struggling with the basics of reading such as finding the main idea and supporting details.  Perfect for extra practice.
Verified buyer | 2/7/2018 4:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Helpful Resource
I am using the 6th grade edition in my 9 - 12 grade Mild/Moderate ELA classes. The worksheets are helpful in simply explaining Reading for Content to my students. After covering these facets, their understanding of text has been improved.
Verified buyer | 2/7/2018 4:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
not rigorous for common core
This was an attempt to teach independent reading fundamental skills, but it is not up to the rigor in common core expectations.  For instance, the author does not understand the importance of point of view since it is emphasizing first and third person, rather than what the character or author's viewpoints/feelings are about another character or event.  I was very disappointed that a new product does not have part a and part b questions nor multiple choice questions that have more than one answer.  This product needs to be revamped already to prepare students properly or should be provided in an editable form, so that teachers can increase the rigor themselves.  My hopes is that Evan Moor will send purchasers updated ebooks.  No, I would not purchase this until they update.
Verified buyer | 2/3/2018 4:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great Resou
One of the things I like about the book is how well aligned it is to the common core standards. The lessons are well balanced between the genres. The stories are engaging with clear comprehension strategies.
Verified buyer | 2/2/2018 4:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
A great supplement to our reading curriculum.
I use the e-book and print out the sections as we need them. Great that you don't have to use the book in one particular order but can use each section with our other workbooks.
Verified buyer | 1/16/2018 4:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)